Regional Agricultural Landcare Facilitator Western region

The Western Region covers 230,000 square kilometres and is one of the most diverse rangeland areas of Australia.

It is comprised of areas of arid and semi arid land that was historically predominately grasslands.  The region includes the Barwon-Darling, Culgoa, Paroo, Warrego, Narran, Bokhara and Birrie River catchments. The region is predominantly leasehold land, administered under the Western Lands Act 1901.  There are 25 Landcare, producer and pest management groups in the region that operate under the umbrella of the Western Landcare NSW network. Predominant land uses include grazing, dryland cropping, irrigated cotton production, mining, tourism and natural conservation.  Bourke, Brewarrina, Cobar, Walgett, Lightning Ridge, Wilcannia, Menindee and Broken Hill are the major service towns.

The Western Landcare network encourages Landcare and producer groups to undertake projects and implement management strategies which improve the quality of our soils, water and vegetation to increase biodiversity whilst sustaining agricultural production for current and future generations.

Land management issues include:

  • Management of large scale enterprises
  • Management of Invasive Native Scrub
  • Control of unmanaged rangeland goats
  • Management of cultural heritage assets
  • Riparian management
Download group KML