2017 NSW Landcare Awards

2017 NSW Landcare Awards

 A celebration of the Champions of Landcare across this great state!


The Champions of Landcare in NSW have been recognised today at the 2017 NSW Landcare Awards. The Awards announced at the NSW Landcare and Local Land Services Conference in Albury recognise the dedication, hard work and community leadership of Landcarers from right across the state.

The categories of this year’s awards recognise work in a number of areas, including sustainable farming, Indigenous land management, Coastcare, innovation and protection of fish habitat.

The NSW Landcare Awards are supported by the Australian Government’s National Landcare Program, NSW Government, Landcare NSW and Landcare Australia.

Collection of photos from the evening. (thanks to Simon Dallinger Photography)

The 2017 Champions and NSW Representatives at the 2018 National Awards:

Junior Landcare Team Award

  • Chifley Public School
  • Bourke High School – Yarra Landcare
  • Nominee to National Awards: Armidale High School Black Creek BushCare group

Austcover Young Landcare Leader Award

  • Joshua Gilbert – Intrepid Landcare
  • Jade Paton – Wetland Warriors
  • Nominee to National Awards: Sophie Robertson – Hunter Intrepid Landcare

 Fairfax Landcare Community Group Award

  • Northside Enterprise Inc. – Bushlink
  • The Habitat
  • Nominee to National Awards: FROGS Landcare Inc

Rio Tinto Indigenous Land Management Award

  • Bangerang Aboriginal Corporation
  • Northern Tablelands Local Land Services Aboriginal Reference Group
  • Nominee to National Awards: Garguaree Swampcare

Sure Gro Coastcare Award

  • Far South Coast Landcare Association
  • Fingal Head Coastcare Inc.
  • Nominee to National Awards: Clean4Shore

Australian Government Innovation in Agriculture and Land Management Award

  • Braidwood Garlic Growers Group
  • Beechwood Biological Solutions
  • Nominee to National Awards: Kadwell Potato Co.

Australian Government Excellence in Sustainable Farm Practices Award

  • The Mulloon Institute
  • Small Farms Network – Capital Region
  • Nominee to National Awards: Murrumbidgee Landcare Inc.

Australian Government Partnerships for Landcare Award 

  • Western Landcare NSW
  • Wallamore Road Landcare Group
  • Nominee to National Awards: Gwydir Shire Council

Australian Government Individual Landcarer Award

  • Lloyd Foster – Coffs Harbour Bushland Regeneration Group
  • Mikla Lewis – Lachlandcare
  • Nominee to National Awards: David Marsh - Boorowa Community Landcare

NSW Fish Habitat Partnership Organisation Award

  • Runner Up: Little River Landcare
  • Champion: Inland Waterways Volunteer Committee

NSW Fish Habitat Partnership Individual Award

  • Runner Up: Alan Izzard - Bass Sydney
  • Champion: Ross Webster - Yass River

NSW Fish Habitat Partnership Highly Commended for Collaboration

  • Murray Local Land Services

NSW Fish Habitat Partnership Highly Commended for Innovation

  • Shoalhaven Riverwatch

For more information contact Chris McCulloch on 6333 2315